Choong-Shik Yoo

Research Interests

Static and dynamic high pressure, solid state chemistry, novel materials, condensed matter physics, Earth and planetary physics, synchrotron X-ray diffraction, spectroscopy, and inelastic scattering.


Prior to joining the Institute in 2007, Dr. Yoo was the Group Leader for High Pressure Science in the Physics Advanced Technology Directorate of the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) since 1996. He provided scientific and programmatic leadership in developing research programs aligned with the Directorate objectives and mentored experimental scientists in the group. Dr. Yoo’s multidisciplinary research efforts have spanned chemistry, physics, and materials science. His expertise covers high pressure science and technology, laser spectroscopy, synchrotron diffraction and spectroscopy, and various in-situ materials characterization methods. His research work involves experiments at major national facilities in the US, Japan and Europe. Many of his recent accomplishments have been published in leading scientific journals such as Science, Nature and Physics Review Letters, and also reported in popular press, e.g. The New York Times, Chemical and Engineering News, and the Oakland Tribune.

Dr. Yoo started working at LLNL in 1989, after completing his Ph. D. in Chemistry at UCLA in 1986 and a three-year post-doctoral research position at Washington State University. He is a member of American Chemical Society, American Physical Society, American Geophysics Union, Materials Research Society, and Sigma Chi Honor Society.


Ph.D. (Physical Chemistry) 1986, University of California, Los Angeles, California
B.S. (Chemistry) 1981, Sogang University, Seoul, Korea

Honors and Recognition

  • Regional Editor, High Pressure Research, 2005-Present
  • Best Paper of the Year, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, 2002
  • DN&T Award, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, 2004 and 1999
  • Materials Physics Advisory Committee at LANSCE (2002-)
  • Executive High Pressure Committee of HPCAT at the APS (1999-)
  • Technical Advisory Committee for the NSLS-II (2005-) and SNAP at the SNS (2003-)
  • APS-Shock Conference Technical Committee (2002-2004)